2019-20 Catalog

Academic Calendar

Lehigh University defines a semester as 14 weeks and 70 individual days of instruction to be followed by 2 days of a reading-consultation and study period in preparation of 9 consecutive calendar days of final examinations with four periods per day of 3 hour exam blocks. The summer term is 12 weeks with measured sessions. The academic year consists of one summer and two regular terms. Please note the academic calendar is subject to change without notice.

Fall 2019

August 20 Tuesday Graduate Student General Orientation
August 22 Thursday First Year Student Check In
August 25 Sunday Degree Awarding Date
August 26 Monday First Day of Class/Registration day
September 1 Sunday Last day for Web registration
September 1 Sunday Last day to add courses without instructor’s signature
September 6 Friday Last day of registration
September 6 Friday Last day to add or drop a course without a “W”
September 13 Friday Last day to select OR cancel pass/fail grading
September 23 Monday Common Hour exam Day 1
September 25 Wednesday Common Hour exam Day 2
October 1 Tuesday Common Hour exam Day 3
October 1 Sunday Applications for January degree due
October 3 Thursday Common Hour exam Day 4
October 11 Friday Mid-term grades due
October 14-15 Monday-Tuesday Pacing Break - no classes
October 28 Monday Common Hour exam Day 1
October 30 Wednesday Common Hour exam Day 2
November 5 Tuesday Common Hour exam Day 3
November 7 Thursday Common Hour exam Day 4
November 11-15 Monday-Friday Reserved registration period for Spring. Specific dates to be determined.
November 12 Tuesday Last day to withdraw from a course with a “W”
November 12 Tuesday Last day for January doctoral candidates to deliver dissertation drafts to dean
November 27-29 Wednesday-Friday Thanksgiving Break
November 26 Tuesday Last day for in-class hourly exams
December 6 Friday Last day of classes
December 6 Friday Last day for January master’s degree candidates to electronically upload thesis and deliver final paperwork to Registration & Academic Services
December 6 Friday Last day for January doctoral degree candidates to complete all degree requirements
December 7 Saturday Review-consultation-study period for Tuesday classes
December 9 Monday Review-consultation-study period for Monday classes
December 10 Tuesday Final exams begin
December 18 Wednesday Final exams end
December 21 Saturday Final Grades Due
 

Spring 2020

January 19 Sunday Degree awarding date
January 20 Monday First day of class
January 26 Sunday Last day Web registration
January 26 Sunday Last day to add courses without instructor’s permission
January 31 Friday Last day to add/drop without a 'W'
February 1 Thursday Deadline to file applications for May graduation
February 7 Friday Last day to select OR cancel pass/fail
February 17 Monday Common Hour exam Day 1
February 19 Wednesday Common Hour exam Day 2
February 25 Tuesday Common Hour exam Day 3
February 27 Thursday Common Hour exam Day 4
March 6 Friday Mid-term grades due
March 9-13 Monday - Friday Spring Break
March 16 Monday Classes resume
March 30 Monday Common Hour exam Day 1
April 1 Wednesday Common Hour exam Day 2
April 7 Tuesday Common Hour exam Day 3
April 9 Thursday Common Hour exam Day 4
April 10 Friday Last day for May doctoral candidates to deliver dissertation drafts to dean
April 10 Friday Last day to drop a class with a "W"
April 13-17 Monday-Friday Reserved registration period for Fall and Summer. Specific dates to be determined.
April 24 Friday Last day for in-class hourly exams
May 1 Friday Last day of class
May 1 Friday Last day for May master’s candidates to electronically upload thesis and deliver final paperwork to Registration & Academic Services
May 1 Friday Last day for May doctoral candidates to complete all degree requirements
May 2 Saturday Review-consultation-study period for Tuesday classes
May 4 Monday Review-consultation-study period for Monday classes
May 5 Tuesday Final exams begin
May 13 Wednesday Final exams end
May 16 Saturday Grades Due
May 18 Monday University Commencement Day
July 1 Monday Deadline to apply for September degree
July 17 Friday Last day for September doctoral candidates to deliver dissertation drafts to dean
August 7 Friday Last day for September masters candidates to electronically upload and deliver paperwork to Registration & Academic Services
August 7 Friday Last day for September doctoral candidates to complete all degree requirements